[GBA] Pokemon Ruby & Sappire Battery

Discussion in 'Other Handhelds' started by Toomuchsugar, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. Toomuchsugar
    OP

    Toomuchsugar Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2018
    United States
    Alright so recently I replaced the battery in a copy of Ruby I bought last week at a used game store and now I no longer get the Battery has run dry message.
    When I replaced it in my copy of Sapphire which I've had since launch, it still gets the message. I've tested the battery, re-soldered it multiple times, tried new batteries, swapped the battery from the working ruby over to sapphire, and reset the saved data. Still I get the message and I have no clue why. I'm seeing mixed information online, some people are saying they get this message as a result of the berry glitch and others say it's unrelated.

    Anyone have any experience with this issue or know of a solution?
     
  2. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me

    Member
    13
    GBAtemp Patron
    migles is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Sep 19, 2013
    China
    Earth-chan
    i don't believe it's related to the berry glitch.
    you said you reseted the data right? by reset you mean you used the button combo to erase the save and restarted fresh?
    after starting fresh, with the berry glitch or not, the message should go away..
    did ya double checked the battery polarity? and the cart is official right?
    maybe the clock crystal might be broken or something wrong with it..

    edit: maybe try to save, load the save, wait a few minutes, then save again, and load it again, maybe it helps but i am just trying to guess...
     
    Last edited by migles, Jul 12, 2018
  3. Toomuchsugar
    OP

    Toomuchsugar Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2018
    United States
    Reset with the button combo, yes.
    Battery polarity is fine. I can show you a picture if you like.
    Cart is official, bought it new back when it first released.

    I'll give the save and load thing a try. Any idea what component the crystal clock is? Can it be tested and replaced?
     
  4. Toomuchsugar
    OP

    Toomuchsugar Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2018
    United States
  5. Toomuchsugar
    OP

    Toomuchsugar Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2018
    United States
    Saving/loading gave no results. Open to ideas, can't find any information online about the issue I'm having.
     
  6. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me

    Member
    13
    GBAtemp Patron
    migles is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Sep 19, 2013
    China
    Earth-chan
    gfdasgda.jpg
    unless i am wrong, and this is from what i understood:
    the red circle is the cristal oscilator thing (the clock)
    and the blue circle is the memory bank controller (i believe they still use memory bank controllers in the gba?)
    either is the memory bank controller (which manages both memories and the clock) or the chip that keeps

    do you have a way to backup\restore your saves? (can be done with an original ds or ds lite and a flashcart)
    i got one more thing to try before you try to rip that thing appart

    dump your save, get pkhex, there is a edit RTC function, try the berry glitch fix button, or manually advance the game like 5 years from the 2000 (you can either leave INITIAL TIME alone or reset it to zeros)
    restore your save back, see if that fixes it, but i really don't think it does
     
  7. Toomuchsugar
    OP

    Toomuchsugar Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2018
    United States
    I have a ds lite and I'm still waiting on a r4i to arrive from chine so I can't try that just yet. I may just pull the back off my DS and bring out a multi-meter, see if I can't find where a connection is weak or broke.
     
  8. Toomuchsugar
    OP

    Toomuchsugar Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2018
    United States
    [​IMG]

    So this is what I've figured out after some digging around, and on my cart there appears to be corrosion on the top right pin of the RTC. Hopefully the chip itself isn't bad, no clue where to find a replacement.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice