SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by epickid37, Nov 1, 2017.

  1. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    May 3, 2015
    United States
    Interesting
    http://taraftartekstil.com/threads/retroarch-switch.492920/
    Only operates on v3.0.0 and lower as of writing this.

    Alternatively, @natinusala is working on a Lakka port. http://taraftartekstil.com/threads/dev-launchmycraft-ported-lakka-to-the-switch.503646/
     
    king_lemmiwinks and natinusala like this.
  2. king_lemmiwinks

    king_lemmiwinks Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 16, 2018
    United States
    thank you :)
     
  3. seriouscatt

    seriouscatt Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 16, 2018
    Australia
    Wanted to confirm, would this usb be fine for firmware/doing anything with a switch?
    Cant link it, but its advertised as a usb-c switch charging cable.
    Just wanted to make sure I bought the right thing and have all the stuff I need.
    Have a jig and a pc with usb 3.0 as well.
     
  4. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    May 3, 2015
    United States
    If it's advertised as a charging cable, there's a chance it's missing the data lines (in order to cut back on manufacturing costs) which would be necessary for delivering payloads.

    Personally I use this cord without issue: http://www.amazon.com/Charger-Anker-PowerLine-Pull-up-Resistor/dp/B01E9W8KYC
     
  5. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    May 3, 2015
    United States
    How does one continue having access to online features on v5.0.2 while still blocking updates? I'm currently using the DNS listed on http://switch.hacks.guide/blocking-updates, but if I want to play Luigi's Balloon World, it says it's connecting to the network before getting redirected to a homebrew launcher install page, presumably for v3.0.0, ultimately resulting in an error if I back out of said page.

    EDIT: I should specify that I did indeed connect to the network atleast once beforehand as instructed but it's still not working
     
    Last edited by Irastris, May 17, 2018
  6. daijobu

    daijobu Member

    Newcomer
    1
    May 17, 2018
    Canada
    Hi guys. The only reason why I'm so desperate to hack the Switch is to backup my saves. I've read some horror stories about the Switch just never waking up from a power off and the resultant loss of all save data (and there is of course always the risk that a portable console gets stolen, lost, or just dropped and broken). I also saw save modification for BOTW and that would be a real blessing since I hate the brittle weapons in that otherwise awesome game.

    Since both of these things (back up and save editing) can now be done with Fusee Gelee, do you guys think I should do it now? At the current stage, how risky (in terms of bricking) is it to do it (I have bought a 3d printed jig)? And I read that running the basic CFW won't even be permanent, as it will go away after each power off. So what if I just do it once, back up all my saves, then mod BOTW once, and go back into the normal firmware (and wait until Atmosphere is stable to hack it again)? Does this eliminate most risk associated with hacking, as it would be like you never hacked it to begin with?

    I also only have a Windows PC with no Android phone. It seems that Web Gelee launcher does not support Windows at this time. Is there a workaround for this?

    Thanks very much for your assistance.
     
  7. mmajunkie77

    mmajunkie77 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 16, 2017
    United States
    MS Gulf Coast
    Not sure if anybody answered your question, but Switch already has it's final formats.

    .XCI = will be the main format for a game cartridge backup loader like TX's
    .NSP = will be the main installer format for tools like FBI/DevMenu
    both formats are PFS0 container and with signature checks patched, it will be easy to convert any game to one of these.
     
    alexj9626 likes this.
  8. alexj9626

    alexj9626 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    2
    Oct 2, 2016
    Panama
    THANKS! Thats what i wanted to know. So those 2 formats dont need anything else. Just download and install/load/whatever. So that means theres no way for Ninti to know if they are legal or not, right?

    Some nice dude answered before but i had this doubt. Thanks again.
     
  9. Asia81

    Asia81 In my Ecchi World <3

    Member
    12
    Nov 15, 2014
    France
    Albi
    New job mean new pay mean new money at the end of month, I'll finally can buy my lovely switch :wub:

    Want I want is a fully CFW like Luma3DS and B9S, is Atmosphere kinda same in the meaning of how it will work?
    Should I care about firmware and serial number, or can I buy my switch regardless?
    If I read right all firmwares/region are hackable and can't be patched without a new hardware revision, is this right?
     
  10. xScorchMuffinx

    xScorchMuffinx Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 11, 2014
    United States
    So i'm dumping my nand using TegraRCMGui/Payload all that jazz and i've been stuck on 87% for probably 20-30 minutes now. Is that normal? If not am i safe to reload the payload and try again?
     
    Last edited by xScorchMuffinx, May 17, 2018
  11. luca1

    luca1 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 17, 2018
    Brazil
    Hey everyone, has anyone been able to boot into RMC using the cooper wire jig? I've paid a guy to 3d print it but it wont fit right into the pins space, it sorta gets under the pins. I've managed to boot once, but not after that. Any help?
     
  12. Doickls

    Doickls Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 25, 2016
    United States
    I used the tinfoil trick, it's definitely the most reliable cheap option, in my experience.
     
  13. ceelo

    ceelo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Mar 9, 2008
    United States
    Not sure what I am doing wrong, but I have the 3d print with the paperclip in it, and I slide it in, I connect the switch to my phone, and it wont go into RCM mode. What am I doing wrong? Im holding up and power. It just doesnt come on. Comes on fine when I take the jig out.
     
  14. Wierd_w

    Wierd_w GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 12, 2018
    United States
    RCM mode is a black screen until the payload is delivered. Is your switch presenting itself with the right vendor and unit ID over USB?
     
  15. ceelo

    ceelo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Mar 9, 2008
    United States
    It is just showing a black screen. I have the NXLoader on my phone with my payload loaded up. It just says to connect the switch and itll be done automatically... but its not doing anything.
     
  16. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    3
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    @OGDUCK6 I am looking to install homebrew on my switch to have a play around with and learn how it all works,
    I already have a 128GB SD card in my switch that has games on it. When I go to install homebrew should i use a new SD card or is it safe to use the same card?[/QUOTE]Its personally up to you. In the future, we will be utilizing EmuNAND so that's gonna be 32 GB wiped of space needed. Switch games vary greatly in size. First party games like Mario and Zelda are around 4 GB but 3rd party titles are usually at least 20 GB. It might be just easier to have everything on one card in case you want to use a specific homebrew for a specific game.

    @Sora Takihawa Are you still using the jig to boot into RCM? First, try booting into RCM with something other than the jig be it tin foil, screwdrivers, paper clip, etc. Next, try to boot into RCM while its connected to your computer. If the screen stays black while holding power and vol + but it doesn't show up as an APX device on your computer, IMMEDIATELY try booting into RCM again by holding power and vol +. This was how I got around this issue.

    @marios75 You would have to run this script with Pegaswitch: http://github.com/reswitched/pegaswitch/blob/master/usefulscripts/DumpBIS.js Sorry, never formally installed Pegaswitch myself so I'm not sure of the best guide to link but a quick Google search should yield some good results.

    @Blank67 Supposedly this version of Hekate works with your SD card: http://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases/tag/v1.3 The issue has to do the size of the SD card. The build you are using doesn't support sizes bigger than 128 GB. Go figure.

    @NANASHI89 Santa says if you ask him nicely with a handwritten letter :)

    @Doickls You're really not missing out on much. The only useful thing to do with CFW is backup the NAND which can be done through more troublesome methods, but there will be an easier method in the future and the chances of bricking the Switch with everything else on the market is close to zero.

    @horokeusama There are supposedly softmods that the ReSwitched team have and are waiting till Atmosphere is completed to release them. Unless you're referring to an untethered coldboot. That would take a miracle and a lot of luck.

    @daijobu Bricking right now is very low, but there have been at least 2 reports of soft bricks. These were done due to running a certain CFW that is unstable at the moment. Booting Fusee Gelee won't brick the console.

    Although we can't boot into CFW from the start without Fusee Gelee, there are changes made while the Switch is on and running Atmosphere that Nintendo can easily track. So even loading Atmosphere once runs the risk of a ban. The problem is we don't know how big of a risk that is yet as Atmosphere is not done yet. Best advice I can give is to wait maybe a week or 2 after its completed and people have tested it after going online then seeing if anyone has gotten banned.

    For Windows PCs, you can use TegraSmash. http://taraftartekstil.com/threads/tegrarcmsmash-a-fusee-launcher-for-windows.502334/

    @Asia81 That's the goal, according to its creator. What's more important than firmware is timing as Nintendo is planning on releasing a new Switch revision as evidenced by firmware 5.0 that adds support for a new chip that will patch the exploit that is making the CFW possible. As far as we know, the revision is not being sold but that can change in a day.

    @xScorchMuffinx Yes since all of this is happening without boot into the Switch so no changes have been made to the NAND. Have you tried other NAND dumping tools?
     
    OGDUCK6 and daijobu like this.
  17. xScorchMuffinx

    xScorchMuffinx Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 11, 2014
    United States
    @Draxzelex
    i have not, just i think hektate or something, whatever is used in the guide. Is there something else i could use?
     
    Last edited by xScorchMuffinx, May 17, 2018
  18. horokeusama

    horokeusama GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Jan 5, 2011
    Brazil
    Rio de Janeiro

    No, I was reffering to anything besides jumping the pins. Well, I think we'll just have to wait until the CFW is released.
     
    Last edited by horokeusama, May 17, 2018
  19. achyoav

    achyoav Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 3, 2017
    Israel
    if I hack my switch, what exactly is the hack like? Is it like on the 3DS where I can safely update?
    is there a boot menu when turning the switch on where I can choose between the CFW and the normal one?
     
  20. horokeusama

    horokeusama GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Jan 5, 2011
    Brazil
    Rio de Janeiro
    When Atmosphere's released, you'll only activate it when you want. You can still boot on OFW. BUT, since we don't have atmosphere nor rom running on CFW, we can't say for sure if nintendo can detect if you're using unauthorized software or not.
    What I'm gonna do is wait at least a few weeks and see if people get banned.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice